

ZURICH, SWITZERLAND, OCTOBER 20, 2016

ABB Research Award in Honor of Hubertus von Gruenberg—recognition for exceptional scientific work in the fields of power and automation

With the international ABB Research Award in Honor of Hubertus von Gruenberg, ABB seeks to recognize exceptional postgraduate work in the fields of power and automation while supporting and encouraging advanced research in these fields around the globe. The award is accompanied by a grant of US\$300,000, which is intended to offer young scientists the ability to continue their scientific research upon completion of their doctoral programs.

With this research award, ABB is offering the world's next generation of scientists the support necessary to pursue broad visions and novel ideas while working to develop and present innovative results to the international scientific and business communities. Winners of the award will enjoy global notoriety and recognition in the worlds of science and business.

The ABB Research Award in Honor of Hubertus von Gruenberg will facilitate outstanding postdoctoral research that leads the way to revolutionary industrial solutions through the creative use of software, electronics or new materials.

The award is named in honor of Dr. Hubertus von Gruenberg, the former long-standing ABB Chairman of the Board of Directors and influential entrepreneur with a relentless passion for research. It will be granted once every three years following the debut in 2016.

A highly qualified jury identified the most promising doctoral thesis and thus the recipient of the ABB Research Award in Honor of Hubertus von Gruenberg. The jury looked for specific real-world applications and potential for innovation. The benefit of the research to society and the environment also factored highly into the jury's decision.

The members of the 2016 ABB Research Award in Honor of Hubertus von Gruenberg jury are:

- Professor Robert Armstrong, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
- Professor Ulrike Grossner, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule (ETH Zürich)
- Professor Nina Thornhill, Imperial College London
- Professor Zheyao Wang, Tsinghua University, Beijing
- Bazmi Husain, Chief Technology Officer at ABB
- Dr. Hubertus von Gruenberg, chair of the ABB Board of Directors from 2007 through 2015

The next ABB Research Award in Honor of Hubertus von Gruenberg will be granted in 2019. The announcement and call for papers will be issued in 2018.

ABB encourages all scientists who have recently earned their doctoral degrees in the fields of mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, electronics, robotics, process automation, and related academic disciplines to apply for the ABB Research Award in Honor of Hubertus von Gruenberg. Eligible applicants must work at a university, research institution or comparable organization and have successfully completed their doctoral degrees no more than three years prior to the call for papers in 2018.