

Press release

20 February, 2017

The Nomination Committee's proposal to Swedbank's Annual General Meeting 2017

The Nomination Committee of Swedbank proposes election of Mats Granryd, Bo Johansson, Annika Poutiainen and Magnus Uggla as new members. Furthermore, the Nomination Committee proposes re-election of the present board members Lars Idermark, Ulrika Francke, Siv Svensson, Bodil Eriksson and Peter Norman. Göran Hedman, Pia Rudengren and Karl-Henrik Sundström have declined re-election. The proposition entails an increase of the number of the Board members elected by the Annual General Meeting from eight to nine. Lars Idermark is proposed as Chair of the Board of Directors.

The Nomination Committee proposes election of Mats Granryd, Bo Johansson, Annika Poutiainen and Magnus Uggla as new members.

Mats Granryd (born 1962) has a background in the telecom industry, where he started his career with 15 years in different positions in Ericsson, both in Sweden and globally. In 2010 he was appointed CEO for Tele2, a position he left in 2015 when he was appointed Director General for GSMA (the interest group for the mobile industry). Mats Granryd is a member of the Board of Directors of Coor Service Management Holding AB.

Bo Johansson (born 1965) has a solid background from the savings banks and Swedbank, where he has worked a large part of his professional career. He has been CEO for Swedbank Sjuhärad since 2002 and in 2015 he was appointed as Deputy Chair of Sparbankernas Riksförbund (interest group for the savings banks). Bo Johansson is also Chair of IF Elfsborg (football club).

Annika Poutiainen (born 1970) has been head of market surveillance at Nasdaq Nordics, unit manager at Finansinspektionen (Swedish Financial Supervisory Authority), member of the consultative workgroup of the committee of corporate governance within the European Securities and Markets Authority, ESMA, and member of the Swedish Securities Council. Since 2014 she is an Industrial Advisor at JKL Group, mainly within financial communication. Annika Poutiainen is a member of the Board of Directors at Hoist Finance AB, Saferoad AS, eQ Oyj, and the Carpe Diem Foundation, with the purpose to run Fredrikshovs Slotts Skola.

Magnus Uggla (born 1952) has more than 30 years of experience from Handelsbanken AB, of which the major part has been as Deputy CEO and Head of Handelsbanken International, Head of Handelsbanken in Great Britain and regional manager for the Stockholm region. He retired from



Handelsbanken in 2015. Magnus Uggla is member of the Board of Directors at Hoist Finance AB and AB Svensk Exportkredit.

Independence according to the Swedish Corporate Governance Code

All proposed Board members, except Bo Johansson, are considered independent in relation to the bank and the bank's management. All proposed Board members are considered independent in relation to the bank's major shareholders.

Furthermore, it is noted that, in order to reduce the potential risk for conflict of interest, Annika Poutiainen has announced that she intends to leave her assignment with Hoist Finance AB and that Magnus Uggla has announced that he intends to leave his assignment with Hoist Finance AB and AB Svensk Exportkredit.

Remuneration of the Board of Directors and Auditors.

The Nomination Committee proposes to raise the remuneration to the Board of Directors calculated on an annual basis as follows, corresponding to an average raise of 4.90 percent: SEK 2 460 000 (2 430 000) to the Chair of the Board of Directors; SEK 825 000 (815 000) to the Deputy Chair of the Board of Directors; SEK 550 000 (525 000) to each of the ordinary members of the Board of Directors; SEK 350 000 (290 000) to the Chair of the Board's Audit committee; SEK 225 000 (215 000) to each of the other members of the Board's Audit committee; SEK 400 000 (290 000) to the Chair of the Board's Risk and Capital committee; SEK 225 000 (215 000) to each of the other members of the Board's Risk and Capital committee; SEK 100 000 (100 000) to the Chair of the Board's remuneration committee; SEK 100 000 (100 000) to each of the other members of the Board's remuneration committee.

The Nomination Committee proposes that the auditor's fee, shall be payable by approved account.

Swedbank AB's 2017 AGM will take place at Folkets Hus in Stockholm, on 30 March 2017. The Nomination Committee proposes Counsel (Sw. advokat) Wilhelm Lüning as Chair of the 2017 AGM.

The Nomination Committee comprises the following: Jens Henriksson, Chair, appointed by owner-group Folksam, Lennart Haglund, Deputy Chair, appointed by Sparbanksgruppen, Ramsay Brufer, appointed by Alecta, Johan Sidenmark, appointed by AMF, Peter Karlström appointed by the owner-group Sparbanksstiftelserna and Lars Idermark, Chair of the Board of Directors of Swedbank AB.

The entire proposal of the Nomination Committee will be included in the AGM notice and also be available on Swedbank's website.

For further information:

Jens Henriksson, Chair of the Nomination Committee, telephone: +46 76 762 20 55 Gabriel Francke Rodau, Head of Communication, Swedbank, telephone: +46 70 144 89 66